Please go to or click on "Website" in the menu above. Thank you.

Wednesday, 22 April 2015

North West India Council of Churches elects its new leadership

To promote grass-roots ecumenism, the Regional Christian Councils need to be
strengthened locally. A vibrant Christian Council is the need of the hour for Church unity in India.  North West India Council of Churches (NWICC), in the last six months had various meeting to revitalize the regional council.  The adhoc -committee called for the ordinary Council meeting, which was held on 15th April, 2015 at Mar Thoma Centre, New Delhi. 

The Council was well represented by the member Churches, Christian Institutions and ecumenical bodies. The devotion was led by Bishop Collin Theodore on “Mystery of Resurrection” and stressed that Resurrection should be experienced every day by believing in the ‘Risen God’. 

Bishop Subodh C. Mondal, Chairman of adhoc-committee, in his presidential address brought to the notice of Church leaders that India is a great nation with rich and diverse cultures, religions, languages and ethnicities. However, it  is threatened by  majoritarian supremacy. People are still awaiting "acche din" (good days) for all. He also highlighted the threatening scenario which minority communities are facing now. He called upon NWICC to play a significant role in providing a platform to all churches and Christian organizations to come together and address the situation unitedly. 

 Dr. Sushant Agrawal, Director CASA insisted that Churches should become a part of the Civil Society to promote peace and Justice and it should take the side of the excluded, dalits and adivasis. He hoped Churches will be engaged  in “Ecumenical Diakonia”. 

Mr. Samuel Jayakumar, Executive Secretary, CoP, NCCI presented a brief report of the programmes conducted by NWICC ahoc committee in the last six months. It was highlighted that Festival of Choirs was organized, Week of Prayer for Christian Unity was held and Church leaders called on the President of India on the eve of Christmas. Rev. Shailakant Bagh , Treasurer presented a financial account. 

 The Church leaders from various denominations expressed their support and solidarity for the common work of NWICC. Dr. Sushant Agrawal presented the nomination committee report which was unanimously accepted by the council members. 

The officers of the NWICC for the year 2015 - 2017

  • President: Bishop Subodh C. Mondal, Methodist Church in India
  • Vice President: Bishop Dr. Abraham Mar Paulos, Mar Thoma Church,
  • Vice – President (Women): Dr. Mrs. Sharda Manohar Rao, CNI
  • Secretary: Bishop Collin Theodore, the Brotherhood of the Ascended Christ,
  • Treasurer: Rev. Shailkant Bagh, Lutheran Church
10 executive committee members from Churches and Institutions were also elected for two years.

Bishop Collin C. Theodore proposed the vote of thanks. Bishop Simon John offered a closing prayer followed by benediction pronounced by Bishop Dr. Abraham Mar Paulos. The first executive committee will meet on 4th May to finalize programme priorities for the NWICC. 

Samuel Jayakumar
Executive Secretary, Commission on Policy, Governance and Public witness, NCCI